Getting closer to fine

1 Feb

“Closer to fine”

I’d like to be there.

A good many days, I’m “fine.” Just as many days, I am not “fine.” And on those days, I’m too far away from “fine” to get back there myself.

Tranquility

Image: Evgeni Dinev / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Read a great post recently on momastery.com about how she handles meltdowns of the child and mommy nature. She suggests that a trick is needed to “regain my peace after I had already lost it.” I could not agree with her more.

I’m not so good at handling meltdowns. I generally join in, basing my behaviour on the “if you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em” theory. But that never helps.

On very rare occasions I manage to maintain perfect calm and I have discovered that the little ones get over themselves a lot quicker. It’s too bad I can’t do this all the time. But sometimes, remaining perfectly calm does little to assuage my little ones. In fact, most often it infuriates my older one that I can remain so calm in the face of whatever has got her goat.

An excellent trick I have found is to…get enough sleep. However, we mothers know that this is one of the more cruel jokes played on parents of young children. Right when you need it, you absolutely cannot have it.

But momastery‘s trick seems to be working for her. Maybe I’ll give that a try the next time I need to hide from the chaos that is life right now.

2 Responses to “Getting closer to fine”

  1. dusterbed February 1, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I just read her post… I think that is the most hilarious and appropriate solution I’ve ever read! Let me know if you try it, and how it works!

  2. shoes February 1, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Hahahaha – off to find a paper bag now.

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,101 other followers

