5 Minute Friday: Connected (hosted by The Gypsy Mama)

I follow Lisa-Jo, The Gypsy Mama; it’s my favourite blog right now. Every Friday, she hosts 5 Minute Friday where, based on a her prompt, you write freely for 5 minutes. Her instructions: “No editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.”

I have decided to join in this Friday, even though, as an editor by trade, this will be incredibly hard for me. 😉 I’m looking forward to the challenge. 🙂

This Friday’s prompt is Connected. My reason for joining in this Friday and never before? I wrote about connecting just the other day in First Impressions, so when I read Lisa-Jo’s blog this morning, I thought this 5 Minute Friday post would be timely.

So here goes…

START

Without connection we float alone in a vast sea. We are individuals looking to connect. We may not admit that to ourselves. We may not want to connect, but even those of us who are very shy, seek out connection.

That connection may come in the form of a smile, a glance held longer than necessary, a simple hello. But it is a connection. We need to connect to feel connected. We need each other to validate our place in the world, to feel as though we are part of a great plan and to move forward in that plan.

Connection helps us see who we are and helps us find ourselves and our path.

Without connection we can be lost. We are not tethered. We are a social people. To be alone is to drift. To be connected is to find ourselves.

Sharing and being open to connections gives us life and breathes life into those who have lost connection.

STOP

Wow, that was harder than I thought it would be. But what a great way to exercise the brain! Thanks Lisa-Jo!

Want to participate? This is what you do…

Link up with The Gypsy Mama and start writing!

11 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday: Connected (hosted by The Gypsy Mama)

  1. Janelle

    Nancy, thanks for visiting my blog today. I really enjoyed reading your post and agree that the connections with others is what gives us life. Great post!

    Reply
  2. brittany220

    I watched this video this morning that a friend posted, I recommend it. It has a lot to do with the power of vulnerability and connecting with others and I think you’ll enjoy it.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Finally had a chance to view this (did I mention my other problem was procrastination?)

      Thank you so much for “connecting” me with this. It brought much into perspective.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Tickled pink about the holidays! « Life Takes Over

  4. Pingback: Connect – FMF with Lisa-Jo Baker « Life Takes Over

  5. Pingback: No commercials, but everything we need | Life Takes Over

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

