To Do

Ever feel like you have a To Do list longer than, oh I don’t know what, the longest thing you can imagine?

I do. I feel that way all the time. No matter what I cross off my list, there is still more to do. In the back of my mind, I have a running To Do list that I never quite get through. Sometimes I have enough time to expel some of those back-of-mind list items onto a piece of paper, which, to me, means that the items have entered a reality other than my own and I now get to cross them off a list in real life.

Maybe it’s a woman thing, but I have zipped through my day, crossing things off my list, gettin’ things done, and then come to the end of my day only to realize that I have 10 more things to do before I can relax, and 8 out of 10 of those things are high-priority, must-do-before-I-go-to-bed items that in no way can wait until morning. As I take in this reality, I glance over at my husband who is relaxing on the couch, watching the hockey game.

Now, don’t misunderstand me. My husband is a wonderful man who rushes around getting things done almost as much as I do. And he’s great at helping out when I ask, and even sometimes when I don’t ask. It’s just that he has less to do than I do (it seems). And I’m sure he’d happily help me with my list so that we could sit down together at the end of the day, but the things on my list can only be done by me.

For example, I make chocolates for special occasions.

Mmmmm, chocolate turtles.

I love doing it, but it can be time consuming. I can’t delegate this task to my husband because I’d have to be able to download my talent into his brain. And humans just aren’t set up like that (yet).

So, what else is on that list in the back of my mind? Way too many things to count! Sigh, there aren’t enough hours in the day.

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

