The Joy of Snow

I, along with many other people in the city, fought the snow this morning.

Luckily, my car was parked in the garage overnight and did not ice up or get snowed under. So my morning started out OK.

But I was still grumpy. I hate the snow. I hate the cold.

Yes, I’m Canadian. Yes, I grew up with more snow than what we’ve had in the last few years. No, I don’t like it. I believe I’m a southerner at heart.

Those Tide Coldwater detergent commercials on TV about how “no self-respecting Canadian says “let’s wait for a warmer day.”” That’s a load of crap. I know many self-respecting Canadians who always say “let’s wait for a warmer day.”

While chatting with a colleague who recently moved to Canada, she commented that she wasn’t yet used to the snow, but that she assumed she would get used to it. I politely pointed out that I had resided in Canada my whole life and I was not used to it.

Every year, as the weather grows colder and the threat of snow lurks on the horizon, I shiver, not at the cold but at the thought of another uncomfortable, inconvenient season. Because that’s what it is.

It’s snowpants, boots, mitts, hats, scarves, too tight seatbelts in carseats, slippery roads, icy cars, snowbanks that take over the curb lane and street parking. It’s early nights, dark mornings and SAD. It’s beat-your-head-against-the-wall-because-they-just-don’t-get-it arguments with the kids about the amount of clothes they have to wear to stay warm and dry.

I could go on and on about the inconvenience and discomfort of winter (can’t you tell how much I HATE IT?), but I started out with the intention of writing about the JOY OF WINTER.

So here goes. This morning, after fighting the slippery roads and crawling traffic, I arrived at my daughter’s school, parked the car on a snowy side street and walked with her to the schoolyard. The joy in the air was palpable.

My daughter and all the other kids were skipping along, smiles on their faces, kicking up snow and taunting each other with snowballs. They had their tongues stuck out trying to catch snowflakes. They were ecstatic with the prospect of snow forts and tobogganing.

They were happy it was snowing.

And their happiness rubbed off on all of most of the adults in the schoolyard. 😉

Snow, like everything else, is just a matter of perspective.

8 thoughts on “The Joy of Snow

  1. Kath

    Thank you! That Tide commercial bothers me every time I see it. Are you kidding me? I have toddlers and this is Canada–I do wait for a warmer day! Too funny.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Apparently that Tide commercial bothers a lot of Canadians. When I was writing this post, I googled it and there weren’t many nice comments from Canadians about it. Looks like we’re not alone. 🙂

      Reply
  2. shoes

    I live in the Pacific Northwest where it rains during the winter all the time! I feel about rain and gray the way it sounds like you feel about snow. Oh, and with the rain there are no rain forts or rainmen but on the plus side I would take driving in rain any day over the snow.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      I’d take a rainy day drive over a snowy day drive any time. But I must say, as much I hate the snow and cold, and how inconvenient it makes my life for a few months every year, when I have nowhere to go and we’re just hangin’ out at home, a snowy day can be fun!

      Reply
  3. Kate (This Mom)

    Oh, how I hate cold weather too! If only Canada could be a little closer to the Equator…but I’ve been told that there’s not much chance of that happening. I’m a teacher, and from Nov/Dec through until about March I absolutely dread yard duty, and being forced outside waiting to be saved by the bell! I also hate taking my girls out to play, so I’m glad they have recess/daycare to look after the whole fresh-air-is-supposedly-important thing. I’ll play with them outside again in April. Or maybe May.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      LOL! I know how you feel. I’m secretly so relieved that my kids are in school and daycare and that someone else is taking care of their outdoor time. I’m only good outside when it’s warm enough to wear shorts.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Makin’ it through the day « Life Takes Over

  5. Pingback: The summer fall-down « Life Takes Over

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

