Preach much?

As a mother, I am always Preaching.

Practising is a much harder Practice for me.

This week, I learned why Practising What I Preach is hard for me.

You ready for this, folks?

I don’t remember what I preach.

That’s it. Plain and simple. Nothing more to it than that.

The problem for me has always been the remembering. And I wasn’t even really aware of it.

I’m a busy working mom of two go-go-go kids, so my memory is not even close to what it was pre-kids. Two pregnancies claimed some of my ability to remember things. Stress and busy-ness claimed almost all that was left after birthing my second baby.

I’m working with limited resources here, folks. Resources that are allocated to remembering to get up in the morning and not shower with my socks on. (Don’t laugh. It happened.)

But when I realized this week  that this was my problem, I tried practising remembering.

You know what they say (whoever “they” are), Practise Makes Perfect.

Instead of tossing out random tidbits of wisdom, preaching to listeners what they could or should do, and then moving on to the next thing, I made a conscious decision to remember each wisdom tidbit I shared with my friends, my colleagues, my children, etc.

And then I practised remembering. I drew on my memory (It was hard work. Trust me) and put into practice the very things I was preaching.

It worked. I succeeded in an area of my life in which I have consistently failed.

And man does it feel good!

4 thoughts on “Preach much?

  1. Pingback: Blogger Awards « "M" is for Marriage and Motherhood

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

