You are your own doppelganger…a little on the paranormal side

A friend of mine did a neat experiment last week. She took a picture of herself and mirrored each side of her face. She posted the result on her blog.

Her commentary for each picture made me wonder how a child would turn out in this photo experiment, so I sent her a picture of my little girl.

Here are the results:

Emily
Emily’s original photo, pre mirror effect
Emily

To me, the Emily on the left is most like Real Emily. The Emily on the right is more like a blond, blue-eyed version of her brother.

My curiosity was peaked by the definition of doppelganger.

Taken from Wikipedia: In fiction and folklore, a doppelgänger (German “double walker”) is a paranormal double of a living person, typically representing evil or misfortune. In modern vernacular, the word has come to refer to any double or look-alike of a person.

Now, some of you may not know that I’m quite the follower of all paranormal ideas. I think it’s because I was raised a Christian and, like so many others, when I learned about modern history and science in school, I started to question my long-standing beliefs.

In a sense, I rebelled against the idea that was GOD. I turned to other things that I thought I identified with. And for a time, I did. And to some extent, I still do. Because, essentially, is God not part and parcel of the paranormal?

par·a·nor·mal
adjective: of or pertaining to the claimed occurrence of an event or perception without scientific explanation, as psychokinesis, extrasensory perception, or other purportedly supernatural phenomena.

Since having children, I’m even more inclined to lean toward paranormal thought and, also, to include God in my daily musings. (I find some bible stories to be so well-suited to story telling with my children that, despite the fact that we are not church-goers and my children have never been exposed to organized religion, they know as many bible stories as I did at that age and I was a regular attendee at Sunday School.)

And I think children are more connected to the paranormal world than adults are. They are open and willing to accept anything because they have come into this world with no preconceived ideas. We are molding and shaping them. And in this process, they are grasping and retaining the ideas that will someday be important to them. So if you tell a child that ghosts are real and our loved ones who have passed on are still with us as ghosts in another realm or on another plain, they readily accept this.

Back to my friend’s experiment, she mentions that we are our own doppelganger, which in “today speak” refers to any double or look-alike of a person.

I looked at it more from the point of view of the original meaning: (from fiction and folklore) a paranormal double of a living person, typically representing evil or misfortune. And I wondered, would a child’s photo show “this paranormal double” the way that I think the adult photos did? Sometimes my daughter’s outbursts make me wonder if there is another little not-so-nice girl living inside her.

What do you think of my daughter’s doppelganger? Evil Twin or Darling Double?

I’m going with Darling Double. 😀

Although she does look a little devious in the photo on the left, and that’s the one that everyone said looked the most like her. 😉

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

