The beginning of reading

I remember when I first started recognizing letters. I was probably about 3. Like most kids, I probably knew the Alphabet song before I understood that it was made up of letters. It is a catchy tune, after all.

But I was about 3 years old when I noticed the older girls in my ballet class were reading books while we waited for our class to start. I was in awe of them. They weren’t just looking at the pictures, they were actually reading.

My daughter is in that phase right now. And her excitement for words and letters has dipped me right back into the deliciousness of  letters and words and the childhood feeling of accomplishment that comes from figuring out what a combination of letters spells out.

I have always loved reading and writing, and words and letters in general. And I don’t just love words as they are used to describe things and to tell stories. I also love looking at words and different fonts. I love hand writing. One of my favourite things is to get a hand-written letter or note from my husband. I think I have kept everything he has ever written for me. (OK, I’m a bit of a pack rat.)

There’s a show that comes on PBS Kids called Word World. I. Love. It. Luckily, so do my kids so we can watch it together. 🙂

I think it is so cool how the creators use actual letters and words to create the characters and the stuff in the show. I’m a geek, OK, but it brings me such JOY to watch that show. I absolutely love it. It excites me.

WordsNow I get to share that word joy with my daughter. Each time she recognizes a word or letter when we’re out, it brings back very clear, vibrant memories of when I was learning letters and words. It’s like the world was revealing itself to me through words. And I can see that same glimmer of understanding in my daughter’s eyes. She’s “getting it”. She’s realizing that she’s not going to be an outsider forever; that soon she is going to be able to read the signs and the words that surround her and she’ll know what’s going on.

JoyThis is one of those parenting experiences that I have looked forward to since the moment I found out I was going to be a mom. And it just tickles me pink to share with her my joy of words.

2 thoughts on “The beginning of reading

  1. mooremom523

    Such a neat experience. Soon gone are the days of being able to spell things when you don’t want little ears to perceive communication. My mother likes to tell the story of how she always used to make my fortune cookies say things like “All good little girls clean their rooms” until one day I took the fortune from her and said “That’s not what it says–there are no “g’s” on there!”

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

