Purging

I’m cleaning out. And not just stuff like old clothes, shoes, junk, etc. I’m going to do it. I mean really DO IT.

It’s scary, but I’ve been thinking about it for a long time now. I want that feeling of “free and clear.” I crave that lightness, that feeling of freedom from the chains of too much stuff keeping me down.

I want to feel UP!

I almost did it once, by accident. It terrified me so much that I had to write about it just to get the demons out of my head so they’d stop scaring me.

But now I’m serious. Enough is enough. I’m going to hit delete.

I am giving myself permission.

I thought I might organize and deal with the stuff first before purging. But I’m not going to.

I have decided on a simpler method. One that will give me the freedom feeling that I so crave but will also cater to my need to hoard save stuff.

I’m going to hit delete on everything in my Inbox that I received before 2012.

That should take care of the bulk of it. I’m not going to sift through it. I’m not going to re-read any of those emails before deleting them. I’m just going to delete them.

And then…

Everything that has arrived in my Inbox since January 1, 2012, I will sift through and sort and organize and keep (if necessary).

What I’m hoping to accomplish with this exercise (besides freeing my mind from the weight of it all) is to teach myself that nothing bad will happen if I don’t keep every email or reply written to or by me.

This is a big step. I hope it’s the first step in clearing my mind for a more focused future.

3 thoughts on “Purging

  1. happykidshappymom

    Wow — I think this is an excellent idea! šŸ™‚ I so often wish that old e-mails, ones I’ve sent and ones I’ve received, would just disappear. Too much flotsam up there in our minds. Well, clearly I can’t delete the ones I’ve sent, but of course I can just up and demolish the ones I’ve received. A great idea — and I’m sure it will bring you much happiness!

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

