Brain Overload!

OhMyGosh! Can we say, “brain overload?”

Of late, I have been trudging through the World Wide Web, looking for tips and information on healthy eating for families who want to get back on track. And by back on track I mean, Mommy and Daddy want to lose some serious pounds before the family vacay, and kid #1 and kid #2 need to start eating enough healthy food to give them energy for all the fun activities we’ll be doing on said family vacay.

Now, we all know there is a TON of information out there and it would take eons to get through it all. Plus a good portion of the information probably isn’t great anyway. But WOW, it’s almost a full time job just sifting through some of it, trying to find what might work for me and my family.

Ideally, I’d like to hire a nutritionist to come in and assess us, then work with us to create a healthy eating program complete with menu plans. (And since we’re speaking in ideals, I’d also like a cook to prepare the meals, a housekeeper to clean the house so that I could spend that time exercising (most ideally, bike riding), and a dishwasher to clean up while I write spend quality time with my children.)

But let’s face it. That’s not going to happen. Well, maybe the part about hiring a nutritionist, but I doubt even that will happen.

So, I’ve been left with the task of figuring out healthy acceptable foods and concocting meals out of the list of acceptable items. For me and hubby, no problem. We’re not too picky. For Thing 1 and Thing 2…well, that’s another story.

So, I’m throwing it out there to all you moms and dads who eat healthy and feed your kids healthy yet easy to prepare foods. HELP!

Give me some ideas, some recipes, some tips, anything. Please, just help me!

And thank you. I cannot express how appreciative I will be for any help I get.

Crazy Cook

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

6 thoughts on “Brain Overload!

  1. memyselfandkids

    My kids are so darn picky – I’m happy when they eat. There are few reliables but none are especially healthy. The only redeeming quality regarding their diets is that they both like and are big fruit eaters.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      I can’t get my daughter to eat anything. And my son, well, I can’t keep him out of the fridge. I’m dreading his teenage years (he’s 2 right now). I try very hard to go with the “just be happy they ate” attitude, but my husband used to be a personal trainer, so he’s particularly keen to see our kids eat properly and get “appropriate” amounts of exercise. My biggest stumbling block…working full time. If I were at home, I could cook healthy meals that I think my kids would eat. But with so little time…well, it’s just so hard.

      Reply
      1. memyselfandkids

        It would ne nice if trainer also meant child nutritionist. Does such a position even exist? Well, if not, it should.
        Anyway good luck and let ’em eat cake.

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

