Five Minute Friday – Risk

It’s Friday…as I’m sure you already know. Weeks at this time of year are hard to abide when school is so close to being out and the days heat up like fire before noon. Friday can’t come fast enough. The kids want free time in the pool and the sunshine; no structure, no rules. They ache for the lazy days of summer. As do I.

Friday also brings with it a post opportunity. I don’t have to think of the topic. I just have to write and link up with Lisa -Jo Baker.

This week’s Five Minute Friday word from The Gypsy Mama (Lisa-Jo Baker) is Risk.

The deal is to write for five minutes, without using the Backspace key, without worrying about spelling or grammar, no do-overs, editing or over thinking. Then link back to The Gypsy Mama and invite others to join in. Oh, and you must visit the person who linked up before you and comment on their post! This is about community and connecting! Let’s jump in!

GO

“The two important things I did learn were that you are as powerful and strong as you allow yourself to be, and that the most difficult part of any endeavour is taking the first step, making the first decision.”  ~Robyn Davidson

“You are as powerful and strong as you allow yourself to be.” In life, there are risks. In risks, there is life. I have written a lot lately about decisions that I’m facing. And how these decisions can’t seem to be made because the weight of each variable changes depending on the day and on the mood.

What I’m lacking is the power and strength to take the risk. The rewards would be so great. So hard-won, but so great.

The risk is what holds me back. What if, what if, what if I keep asking myself. What if it’s the wrong decision? What if I hate it? What if I can’t do it?

What if I did it and everyone was happier? What if I was great at it? What if it made a huge difference?

It would make a huge difference. I know it would. But I’m scared. The risk is too much. If it didn’t work, I would feel terrible for wrecking an OK life for a chance at a better life.

STOP

Now it’s your turn. Link up and write for 5 minutes flat.

Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Risk

  1. Amy Walker

    SO true…the most important choices always seem to be the “riskiest.” For me, the choice that included the most risk has often been the right one!

    Reply
  2. dawnmarieg

    but i love what you wrote… there is life in the risk! there is!!! but oh, the steps to get there… especially when we are taught to be ok with ok.

    Reply
  3. Life Behind These Eyes

    Risk is always “risky”. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Its ok to be scared, because if you were never scared then you would never have a chance to be brave. “Scared” is just an emotion. Its an emotion that is controlled by “you”. You can be your own worst enemy or you can be your own key to success. Its up to you and the universe. Ask the universe for what you want, then will it to happen. You are a star, you just have to believe it.

    Reply
  4. Stacy

    Thank you for commenting on my post. You are so right stepping out & taking a risk is so hard & I too wrestle with a million what ifs but he risks I’ve taken lately have taught me how much it is worth when you know it’s what you’re supposed to do!

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

