From a Freudian slip comes a realization

So I’m singing along with the kids to one of their CDs in the car this morning and the chorus of the song goes something like this:

I want to be a clown, a spaceman, a teacher, a policeman, a cowboy and a TV star. I want to sleep all day and eat junk all night. But that’s all I’ve ever dreamt so far.

With the second round of the chorus coming up, I’m really getting into the song. I’m tappin’ my foot and dancin’ in my seat, ready to belt out the chorus. And this is what comes out:

I want to be a clown, a spaceman, a teacher, a policeman, a cowboy and a TV star. I want to sleep all day and drink all night. But that’s all I’ve ever dreamt so far.”

As soon as the words were out of my mouth I thought, “Wow, sleep all day and drink all night. Hm, I think it’s time for Mommy to get out on the town. I’ve been workin’ too hard and I need to have some fun apparently.”

(I avoided the onslaught of questions from the 4-year-old because the music was so loud she didn’t hear what I was singing. Good thing.)

It was clear to me that I had been manifesting a desire to do some partying. A desire that hasn’t surfaced very frequently in the years since having children. And do you know what? It was a great feeling to think that somewhere deep down inside of me, mommy, caregiver, chauffeur, cook, maid, boo boo kisser, I was still me.

It made my day a little brighter to realize that I hadn’t lost me in the shuffle of motherhood. The young, hopeful dreamer who loves to dance is still in there.

I think I’ll makes plans with the husband for a night on the town.

_______________________________

By the way, the CD we were listening to is JUMP! By Markus, and it’s great kids’ music. It’s not mind-numbing for adults like some kids’ music can be.

You can check it out here:

MarkusMusic.com - Jump! CD

One thought on “From a Freudian slip comes a realization

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

