On spoiling

If you want your children to turn out well, spend twice as much time with them and half as much money.

I can’t remember who told me this, but it makes so much sense.

And so does the list below that I found on GoodEnoughMother.com. (The points in bold are from Good Enough Mother. She elaborates on her list on her site. I have chosen to make my own comments about each point below.)

  1. STOP HOVERING – they will figure it out on their own…eventually.
  2. DONโ€™T GIVE THEM EVERYTHING – they’ll never learn the value of anything.
  3. MAKE SURE YOUR KIDS KNOW THEY ARE NOT THE CENTER OF THE UNIVERSE – if you don’t teach them this, someone else will.
  4. TEACH THEM LIFE IS NOT LINEAR – sometimes you have to go backward to go forward.
  5. LET THEM FAIL – it teaches them how to succeed.

And a little visual reminder…a cartoon that I quite like for its brutal honesty.

Screaming cartoon child

11 thoughts on “On spoiling

  1. shoes

    I like this, it is a good reminder about keeping is simple and using common sense in the great task of parenting. Sometimes what is common sense gets fuzzy in the throes of raising them. At least that is the case in my life. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    All so true but so difficult for wee ones to learn- especially my first born because he really was the centre of the universe for so long (until his little brother appeared and ruined that…haha)

    Reply
  3. dusterbed

    Seriously good advice for anyone in the proximity of kids! I know I find it hard to say no to little munchkins! But I guess we have to remember that if they are our kids – we need to parent them! Moms and Dads are the BOSSES, not the other way around ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

