Get involved

When mydaughter started school this past September, I thought, “This is gonna be great! There are going to be activities and events and I’m going to step right up and get involved! I’m going to be a part of this great community we live in and I’m going to inspire my daughter to greatness!”

I was particularly hopeful, and I admit very expectant, that a lot of the activities and events that she would be taking part in over the course of the school year would involve the environment. You know, things like clean-up days and recycling drives.

But the school year passed and there wasn’t much said or done to encourage environment-related events.

Granted, my daughter was only in Junior Kindergarten and JK kids didn’t seem to be included in many of the school activities. So maybe there were clean-up days and we just didn’t know about them.

Regardless, I don’t think 4 year olds are too young to learn environmental responsibility. Which is why, when I was contacted to publish an article on my blog about a school in Toronto that did get their students involved, I jumped at the chance. You can read the article here.

In September, my daughter starts at a new school. And this time, if nothing seems to be going on, I’m going to initiate the discussion. Involvement and responsibility has to start somewhere.

6 thoughts on “Get involved

  1. shoes

    Good for you! We should all take a lesson from your proactive approach on this – it is after all all our responsibilities to take care of our earth.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

