Drowning in blueberries

I never thought I’d say it. I have way too many blueberries.

Ok, I take it back. There is no such thing as too many blueberries.

blueberries in a basket

I have three large Ziplock bags of frozen blueberries for use in the winter when blueberries are expensive.

I have plans for smoothies with the buckets of blueberries that I did not freeze. And now I just have to figure out what to make with the rest of them.

While I think, please enjoy these pictures of my little blueberry pickers.

dad and two kids

boy eating blueberries

boy and girl with blueberries

(The all blue outfit was planned. She was concerned about getting blueberry stains on her clothes and so decided to wear blue so that if she did, no one would notice. Smart cookie! She’s unhappy with Little Brother here because he ate more than he picked. And he thought her blueberries tasted better than anyone else’s.)

OK, so for ideas, I turned to Twitter and sent out a request for suggestions.

Here’s an easy one that I think I’ll try (thank you Ava Grace’s Closet):

Another great recipe I found: Blueberry pancakes. They work really well for me on busy mornings. Healthy, antioxidant rich, tasty and my kids love them! What more can a mother ask for? The best part? This recipe is for make-ahead and freeze pancakes. All you have to do is pop ’em in the toaster when you want to eat them!

Recipe courtesy of The Heart and Stroke Foundation.

It was developed by Nadine Day, a registered dietitian who specializes in children’s nutrition, and posted on The Heart and Stroke Foundation website in May 2007.

Make-ahead whole-wheat blueberry pancakes

Makes 12 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (500 mL) buttermilk (I use this substitute to save myself a trip to the store for an item I only use when making these pancakes)
  • 1 tbsp (15 mL) canola oil
  • 2 tsp (10 mL) vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup (50 mL) maple syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup (250 mL) whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) ground flax seed
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) oat bran
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) baking soda
  • 1 tsp (5 mL) baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp (1 mL) salt
  • 1/2 cup (125 mL) frozen wild blueberries

Top the pancakes off with apple butter. (I use Pure Canadian Maple Syrup.)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl mix together buttermilk, oil, vanilla, maple syrup, and eggs.
  2. In a second bowl combine flour, flax, oat bran, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  3. Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and whisk together until you get a smooth batter. Gently stir in blueberries.
  4. Preheat non-stick fry pan or griddle to medium heat. Use a cup measure to spoon the batter into the pan. When finished cooking, place on wax paper to cool. There should be 12 pancakes.
  5. When fully cooled, stack pancakes with wax paper in between and place in a resealable freezer bag. Place in freezer.
  6. To serve: Remove one pancake from the freezer and place in toaster on the darkest setting. When finished, cut in half, spread with apple butter and serve like a sandwich. Perfect for running out the door! (This is key.)

Nutritional information per serving
(1 pancake)

  • Calories: 132
  • Protein: 6 g
  • Fat: 5 g
    • Saturated fat: 1 g
    • Dietary cholesterol: 32 mg
  • Carbohydrate: 19 g
    • Dietary fibre: 3 g
  • Sodium: 232 mg
  • Potassium: 190 mg

Have you been blueberry picking yet? We went to Andrew’s Scenic Acres and the pickings were really good.

So what are you doing with blueberries this year? Got any other ideas for my blueberries?

4 thoughts on “Drowning in blueberries

  1. shoes

    Oh how I love blueberries. I can eat they by the fistful until I feel ill and only then will I slow down.
    Very smart the blue outfits for the picking of blueberries. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      I’m the same way. In fact, I made myself sick the day of and the day after we picked all those blueberries. I’ll never learn my lesson. 😉

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

