A second language for my little girl

In a few short weeks, my little girl will be starting her second year of school. And it will be like starting all over again for her because, after a great deal of hemming and hawing, my husband and I decided to enroll her in the French Immersion program, which means she will be attending a different school than she did for JK.

New school. New language. It was a tough decision because we want her to feel comfortable, but we also want her learn her a second language, which can only benefit her throughout her life.

In making our decision, we attended the information session and heard the concerns of many parents; the biggest being that they don’t speak French, so how will their children pick it up and succeed at it? Lucky for us, I speak French. I’m a little rusty, but I get by.

Regardless of my ability, my daughter hasn’t had much exposure to French. She has picked up a little Spanish from Dora the Explorer, but French has not figured into her daily TV programming and whenever I try to speak to her in French, she shows off her Spanish skills and tells me I don’t know how to talk. So where do I to start if I want to give her a leg up for September? Despite what we learned in the information session (that most kids start the French program with no French at all), I want my daughter to, at the very least,  feel comfortable with basic greetings and simple requests (like: Où est la toilet?) on her first day of school.

I will keep speaking to her in French regardless of her resistance and preference for Spanish. But what else can I do?

This tip sheet gave me some ideas that should prove successful in helping her prepare for her first day of school in a different language!

3 thoughts on “A second language for my little girl

  1. elskenewman

    Keep doing what you’re doing, even if she is not speaking it, she will learn from you speaking French. As I am Ducth we are raising our little girl bilingual, all I do is say stuff in both English and Dutch and she understands both. It’s amazing how quickly they pick it up.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: The enthusiasm of the day « Life Takes Over

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

