Usin’ up oranges

Some time ago, I went a little crazy and bought too many oranges. We were eating them like crazy, the kids too. So I thought I’d take advantage of a sale and buy a ton of them.

This always backfires. I know as soon as I get the sale item home, the kids will stop eating whatever it is they had recently consumed immense quantities of. This makes sense, of course, because they are likely, by that point, sick of the item in question.

But I haven’t learned my lesson yet (apparently).

So what was I to do with all these oranges? They would go bad before we ate them and I hate wasting food. And there aren’t too many recipes that call for an orange (or two or three or four). Lots of recipes call for orange zest or the juice of a freshly squeezed orange, but not the whole orange.

unbaked muffins

Until I found this recipe on food.com:

Ingredients:

1 orange, quartered and seeds removed (with peel) < I love this part! It makes it so easy!
1/2 cup orange juice (I didn’t have any, so I used apple juice)
1 large egg
1/2 cup butter or 1/2 cup margarine
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I used 1 cup of all-purpose flour and 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour)
3/4 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400F; spray a muffin tin (12) with non-stick cooking spray like Pam and set aside. (I used muffin cups instead)
  2. Put orange quarters in food processor (or blender) along with orange juice and process or blend until pureed.
  3. Add egg and butter to food processor and combine; pour into large bowl.
  4. Combine dry ingredients together in a separate bowl, then add all at once to orange mixture.
  5. Stir to combine.
  6. Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes; remove from oven and let stand in tin for 5 minutes before removing muffins.
Read more at: www.food.com

So easy. So yummy. Took me no time at all to make them. My kids loved them. I couldn’t keep them in the cupboard. They ate them with jam, with butter, with nothing at all. And best of all, I used up my oranges.

MagicBullet

pureed orange
dry ingredients
muffin batter
Sorry I don’t have a picture of the finished muffins. I’ve got hungry critters in my house.
6 thoughts on “Usin’ up oranges

  1. dusterbed

    Love it! Sounds delicious!! I do this sometimes too – buying in bulk usually backfires 😉 Great idea to use up the fruit!

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Thanks! And so easy, too. They were absolutely delicious. The next time I make them, I’m going to add walnuts or something crunchy to give them a bit more texture.

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

