New running shoes and the kid attitude

Remember that new running shoe feeling from when you were a kid?

I do.

Sure, I get new running shoes as an adult. But I don’t have that same run, skip, hop, jump attitude that I did as a kid.

When I was a kid, I remember lacing up my new running shoes to walk over to the mall with my mom. We had to go up a little hill into a park and through a school yard to get to the street that the mall was on.

I remember running up that hill and skipping all along the path through the park and then jumping as high as I could across the school yard, telling my mom with every hop that my new running shoes were the reason that I could jump so high.

I had forgotten that new running shoe feeling until today when my son put on his new running shoes.

running shoes

He skipped and hopped and ran and jumped all over my parents’ back patio and driveway like he had springs under his feet.

He was so excited, so happy. He loves his new shoes! Such simple pleasures.

4 thoughts on “New running shoes and the kid attitude

  1. hollow tree ventures

    I’d totally forgotten about that feeling! That makes me want to run out and get a new pair, just to see if they make me want to skip. Probably not, unless they’ve invented a new way of skipping while sitting down…

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

