Conquering the monster fear – Marlow and the Monster book review

I’ve got a little girl who sleeps with her closet door open every night so that she can make sure that there’s nothing moving in there.

Her Tinkerbell nightlight, plugged in right beside the head of her bed, is the glow she needs to keep the monsters away from her in the night.

She doesn’t speak of her fear, even when I try to talk to her about it. I think she thinks that if we don’t talk about it, the monsters won’t come.

That’s not what Sharon Cramer, author of Marlow and the Monster, suggests though. She has a great tip sheet on how to help your child deal with things that go bump in the night. And talking about it—”debunking the traditional monster fears”—is one of her suggestions.

So, following that suggestion, and because I had an opportunity to review Sharon’s book, Marlow and the Monster, I sat down with my daughter (and my son, because what I do with one, I have to do with the other) and read Marlow and the Monster.Marlow and the Monster cover

It’s a story about a young boy, Marlow, who has monster trouble. Marlow’s monster won’t leave him alone, but his parents don’t believe him because, according to Marlow’s dad,  “Monsters are NOT REAL!”

Marlow doesn’t know what to do with his pesky monster so he pawns him off on his younger sister, Sarah. She ends up showing Marlow that his monster isn’t so bad after all. All the monster wants to do is play with him.

My kids and I were very impressed with the illustrations in Marlow and the Monster. The monster is the only thing in vivid colour (this didn’t go un-noticed by my two). The rest of the illustrations are done in black and white and in incredible detail. And the story helped my daughter with her fear of monsters by making her understand that monsters don’t have to be scary. Maybe they’re friendly and they just want to play. She’s definitely considering the possibility.

And my son can’t wait to see the “colour monster” again since that’s what jumped out at to him as I read them the story. I don’t think he’s quite at the stage to be grappling with monsters under his bed, so maybe Marlow and the Monster will put him on the right track to never worrying about things that go bump in the night.

the monster under the bed

It’s an entertaining story and worth the read whether your child is afraid of nighttime monsters or not.

Plus, something I just discovered, there’s a mouse to be found on each page! I was looking forward to reading Marlow and the Monster to my kids again, but now, with this new challenge of finding the mouse, I really can’t wait until story time tomorrow night! (Yes, I’m a bit of a Where’s Waldo geek, so this aspect of Marlow and the Monster really appeals to me.)

Got nighttime monsters in your house? This week, you can get the Marlow and the Monster e-book FREE on Amazon!

Even better! You can WIN a copy of the book right here! Just tell me in the comments something you did to help your kids overcome their fear of monsters. Each comment counts as one ballot. Feel free to leave multiple comments if you’ve done more than one thing to chase away a monster. Using random.org, a winner will be chosen and contacted within 48 hours of the contest closing date—Wednesday, August 22, 2012.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of the Marlow and the Monster book for this review. I was not compensated in any other way. The opinions expressed above are my own.

8 thoughts on “Conquering the monster fear – Marlow and the Monster book review

    1. Nancy Post author

      I think that’s the norm. That’s how I was, too. I was surprised when my daughter first started asking for her closet door to be open at night. I would have thought she would want the opposite.

      Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      You’re very lucky. On any given week or day, the thing that frightens her is different, so I’m forever changing my tactics. I’ve become quite good at monster slaying 😉

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Family Literacy Day 2013 « Life Takes Over

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

