Heard from within these walls

In the Wells’ household…

Scene: Dad standing at the counter cutting up fruit. Big Sister and Little Brother at the kitchen table waiting for their snack. Mom at the sink washing dishes.

BS: “I want milk, please.”

LB: “I want milk, please.”

BS: “I want Cheerios, too.”

LB: “I want Cheerios, too.”

Dad places Cheerio-laden bowls on the table in front of the kids. Hungry kids begin munching.

BS: “I want fruit, too.”

LB: “I want fruit, too.”

BS: “I want milk, too.”

LB: “I want milk, too.”

Mom smiles quietly and continues washing dishes. She senses Dad’s frustration at the constant bombardment of requests.

Dad continues to cut up fruit.

Another request from the kids.

BS: “I want milk. Don’t forget my milk.”

LB: “I want milk. Don’t forget my milk..”

Dad snaps.

Dad: “Hold on! Wait! I can only do one thing at a time! I’m not your mother!”

Mom smiles quietly and continues washing dishes. That little comment from Dad just made up for all the times that she thought she’d go out of her mind from request bombardment.

10 thoughts on “Heard from within these walls

    1. Nancy Post author

      I’ve read it over and over myself. Makes me feel good every time I get to the end and read my husband’s exasperated comment to our kids!

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

