Life Takes Over…in more ways than one

So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the name of my blog and how it came to be.

My husband and I came up with it because it’s something I used to say to him before we were married. Life takes over. You can’t escape it. Eventually, you have to take on responsibility and grown-up attitudes, and do things like get a steady job, buy a house, get married, have kids, etc.

These things are, of course, optional. You can still be responsible and not own a house or get married or have kids for that matter. But a lot of people go that route. And, if you choose to have kids, you better be responsible about it. This is another human life that has been entrusted to you.

I recently wrote a post for Time for Nature, a website that was created by the Nature Conservancy of Canada to challenge Canadians to connect with nature during their summer vacations.

For my post, I included this picture of a vine growing over a fallen tree.

And I’ve been thinking about it ever since, because this is life taking over.

In nature, when something is no more, something new grows from it or over it or around it until what was there is no longer and new life takes its place.

What Life Takes Over has always represented to me was the ho-hum existence of an adult life with very little of the excitement, expectation, anticipation or spontaneity of youth.

But what Life Takes Over, the blog, has morphed into is a place for growth and betterment. Much like in nature.

I recently made the passing comment that all I wanted to be was a SAHM and I never expected that of me, the woman who went back to work because she wanted to seven weeks after her first child was born. My husband, dear sweet man that he is said, “Well, you aren’t that person anymore.”

In that phrase, I heard all about who I had become. And I see life taking over in a different way now.

5 thoughts on “Life Takes Over…in more ways than one

  1. Jennifer Vidal, an unedited writer

    I really like the name of your blog; it’s short yet meaningful, and very easy to remember and type in.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

