Busy Mom Extraordinaire

Busy Mom Extraordinaire. That’s my new title.

By day, Production Editor. By day and night, Busy Mom Extraordinaire.

What mother wouldn’t want extra hours in her day? How do we get it all done?

I thrive on busy. If I’m not busy, I slack off. But all that busy all the time can’t be good for my health.

I’m stressed. (Who isn’t?) I’m tired. (Who isn’t?)

Do you know what I want?

A wife.

It seems to me that my problems would be solved if I could just find a good wife.

Don’t read too much into this wife thing. I have a great husband. He’s involved. He works hard. He’s great with the kids. But he’s not a wife. He’s a husband. And he does a great job of being a great husband.

As he points out though, I know intuitively what the kids need and want. Some of that is because I am with them more (even though I’m a working mom. How does that work? Oh yeah, the kids have mommy fever. They always want to be with me. I’m not complaining. I’m just saying. It doesn’t even occur to them to barge in on their father when he’s on the toilet. But the very second the bathroom door closes behind me, both kids need something and are standing on the other side of the door banging it down like their lives depend on the mere admittance to the bathroom. But I digress.)

So, the way I figure it, if I had a wife, there would be someone else around who has that sense of intuition. And wouldn’t that be great?

9 thoughts on “Busy Mom Extraordinaire

    1. Nancy Post author

      Ooohh, yes, good point. That’s the main reason we didn’t hire a nanny when I went back to work. You know what would work in this case? One of those Stepford wives, because you could program her for how involved you wanted her to be with everything πŸ˜‰

      Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      LOL! I didn’t realize we were that difficult πŸ˜‰ But perhaps you make a good point. I didn’t consider that maybe the reason my husband isn’t as intuitive with the kids is because he’s using up all his intuition on trying to read me! πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  1. dusterbed

    This is not an altogether unique epiphany, but wouldn’t it be great? Maybe this is why the Mormons seem to be so well organized πŸ˜€
    @memyselfandkids – I’ve known this blogger for years and I’d have to disagree with you. She could handle a wife. She could handle anything.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

