Baked Spaghetti

What do you do when you have a ton of leftovers in the fridge that you know your family is sick of eating (and your kids didn’t like in the first place) and you need a family-pleasing, quick and easy dinner in 1/2 an hour?

I’d love to hear what you do! Please comment!

Here’s what I did:

I Googled a recipe to loosely follow. (I do this a lot. It gives me an idea of what I can combine and for how long something has to cook while still allowing room for my own creative input.) This is what I found: Basic Baked Spaghetti.

It’s a basic recipe for spaghetti baked in a casserole dish. I then added my own touch to it.

Leftovers on hand

  • meatloaf made with ground beef, puréed frozen squash and puréed green peppers
  • seasoned cooked chicken breast cubes

Steps

  1. Boil spaghetti
  2. Heat meatloaf, chicken and pasta sauce in skillet
  3. Stir cooked spaghetti into mixture in skillet
  4. Spread into 9×13 pan
  5. Sprinkle generously with shredded cheese (I buy tons of cheese whenever it goes on sale and then I shred it and freeze it for future use.)
  6. Bake for 30 minutes at 350° F
  7. Let sit for 5-10 minutes before cutting so that it cuts without being a slopping mess
  8. Serve and enjoy!

My kids loved it! My little helper had three full plates.

It was very similar to the spaghetti pie I once made.

I didn’t have to use the leftovers I had on hand, but I did and the flavour turned out great. Plus I got to clean out my fridge. Not to mention the health benefits of all the veggie purée I put in the meat when I made the meatloaf a few nights ago! Definitely contributed to the flavour.

This one’s going in my Go-To-Recipes book for sure.

11 thoughts on “Baked Spaghetti

    1. shoes

      ok, I said to heck with the boys and made my own variation of this with pasta sauce for Husband and I (along with plain pasta with cut up bratwurst and shredded cheese for the boys). It is in the oven now and I am excited to try it. Plus it was fun using my immersion blender on the leftover grilled veggies! 🙂

      Reply
    2. Nancy Post author

      Will your boys eat a cream sauce like Alfredo? You could do it with that instead of spaghetti/tomato sauce…or even a can of cream of mushroom or cream of chicken soup. I haven’t tried it, but I’m sure it would work. You may have more difficulty washing the dish after though because of the cream sticking on when it’s baked. The tomato sauce cleaned up really easily.

      Reply
      1. shoes

        I have not tried an Alfredo sauce but that is a good idea. My spaghetti dish turned out great, the boys each tasted it and one of them asked for seconds. In the end they both decided that the plain jane noodles were their favorite (insert deep frustrated sigh here). Husband and I really liked it and it was a great way to use up leftovers so I am sure I will make it again. 🙂

      2. Nancy Post author

        At least they tried it! I’m glad it worked out for you. I feel your frustration though with your boys not moving beyond the basics. My two are the same. Plain white rice, plain noodles (although they will eat spaghetti, but oddly enough, they won’t eat any other kind of pasta with a tomato based sauce).

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

