Ambition’s Not An Awful Word: a book review

Written by Zack Zage and illustrated by Adam Watkins, Ambition’s Not An Awful Word was a bit over my four-year-old daughter’s head. Admittedly, it’s meant for children ages 6 and up, but I think even a six-year-old might find it a bit advanced. Although I will say, I found it entertaining. My daughter did too despite not really understanding some of the language.

The story is about young Zack who can’t wait to tell his class what he wants to be when he grows up in response to his fourth grade teacher’s theme for the year, “what I want to be.”

With each dream of what he’d like to be, someone tells him why he can’t. But Zack keeps dreaming because Ambition’s Not An Awful Word!

My two-year-old seemed to enjoy the pictures in the book. I’m not sure he followed the story, but the illustrations are colourful and fun. And some of the imagery was used throughout (e.g., on page 13, the picture young Zack drew when his ambition was to be an artist showed up on page 18 on the wall in his office when his ambition was to be a banker). My son loved this because it tied the story together for him (I really liked it, too. It made Zack’s character seem less random and more like a typical child with lots of ambition that just needs to be harnessed.)

As I enjoyed the book more than my kids, I think they were riding the coat tails of my enthusiasm (I’m a big sucker for a good rhyming story.)

All in all, this is a good book and one that we have read many times. It will also stand the test of time in our house because I think the kids will get more out of it in a couple of years.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Title: Ambition’s Not An Awful Word
Author:  Zack Zage
Illustrator: Adam Watkins
Publisher: Ivy Court Press
Pages: 32
ISBN: 978-0-9836078-2-3

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of Ambition’s Not An Awful Word for this review. I was not compensated in any other way. The opinions expressed above are my own.

One thought on “Ambition’s Not An Awful Word: a book review

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

