150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches: A review

Do you have kids?

Are you busy?

Do you need quick and healthy meals your kids will eat?

If you answered yes to any of the above questions, then you have probably made grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch or dinner.

What’s not to love about grilled cheese sandwiches? Ooey Gooey melted cheese. Warm, buttery grilled bread. Whether you dip it in ketchup or eat it without, a grilled cheese sandwich is the ultimate lunch time comfort food. Add some carrot sticks and cucumber slices and you’ve got yourself a kid-approved balanced meal.

In reviewing 150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches recently, I was able to turn up the dials on comfort and delicious.

150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches by Alison Lewis © 2012 Robert Rose Inc. www.robertrose.ca Reprinted with permission. All rights reserved.

Grilled cheese sandwiches aren’t just for lunch either. I often turn to them for dinner on a busy weeknight. Although I know my kids love them and are getting a good helping of protein and grains (I use whole grain bread), I sometimes get tired of plain ol’ grilled cheese. I just need something a little more grown up.

Allow me to introduce you to the Brie and Raspberry with Hazelnut Spread grilled cheese sandwich:

Excerpted from 150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches by Alison Lewis © 2012 Robert Rose Inc. www.robertrose.ca Reprinted with permission. All rights reserved.

I know. Your mouth is watering. It tastes as good as it looks. The zing of the raspberries is offset by the creamy hazelnut chocolate spread. Toss in some warm brie and the crunch of grilled sourdough bread and it was like heaven in my mouth.

At first, I couldn’t quite wrap my mind around a grilled cheese sandwich for dessert, but this little number wooed me right into submission. If you’re serving it to guests, I would recommend cutting it into small triangles or slices so that it doesn’t seem so much like a sandwich.

Besides that little number, I found many delicious recipes in 150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches. Including the yummy breakfast Grilled Egg, Cheese and Bacon Biscuit:

Grilled Egg, Cheese and Bacon Biscuit (page 33)

This has to be one of my three kids’ favorite breakfast recipes in this book. It is definitely a family favorite.
~Alison Lewis

 •     Panini grill or large skillet

•     Preheat panini grill to medium, if using

4     large eggs, lightly beaten    4

1 tbsp      skim milk   15 mL

1⁄4 tsp     salt  1 mL

1⁄4 tsp     freshly ground black pepper   1 mL

6 tbsp      butter, divided   90 mL

4     biscuits, sliced  4

4     slices bacon, cooked and halved    4

1⁄4 cup     shredded Cheddar cheese 60 mL

1.    In a medium bowl, combine eggs, milk, salt and pepper.

2.    In a skillet, melt 1 tbsp (15 mL) of the butter over medium heat. Add egg mixture and cook, stirring, until scrambled. Set aside egg mixture and wipe skillet clean.

3.    Spread remaining butter equally over biscuit tops. Place on a work surface, buttered side down. Top 4 halves equally with scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese and remaining biscuit half. Place biscuits, buttered side down, on preheated panini grill or in a skillet over medium heat and cook, turning once if using a skillet, for 3 to 5 minutes per side or until browned and cheese is melted. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

Excerpted from 150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches by Alison Lewis © 2012 Robert Rose Inc. www.robertrose.ca Reprinted with permission. All rights reserved.

There are also great tips for selecting ingredients and grilling a sandwich, some interesting background on the classic Grilled Cheese Sandwich (which didn’t even include two slices of bread until the early 1960s!) and even a chapter on condiments, which was a nice surprise.

Although I’ve been making grilled cheese sandwiches for as long as I have been allowed near a stove, there was a lot, apparently, that I didn’t know about doing it right.

What I learned from reading 150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches will certainly delight the next person I offer a gourmet grilled cheese sandwich to.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Title: 150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
Author: Alison Lewis
Publisher: Robert Rose Inc.
ISBN: 978-0-7788-0412-3
Pages: 248 pages

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of 150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches for this review. I was not compensated in any other way. The opinions expressed above are my own.

4 thoughts on “150 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches: A review

    1. Nancy Post author

      That was how my kids used to be. They wouldn’t eat cheese melted between bread. I could melt it all over pasta or veggies or make mac and cheese smothered in melted cheese, but between bread they would not eat melted cheese. Then, all of a sudden, grilled cheese was their favourite food. Weird.

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

