A child’s hug

There are so many kinds of hugs.

The polite, pat-on-the-back type that closer acquaintances on their way to becoming friends exchange.

The warm hug of a mother and daughter.

The protective hug of a father and daughter.

The strong I-love-you-so-much-but-I-can’t-put-it-into-words hug of a father and son.

The gentle hug of a mother and her newborn baby.

The wild, silly hug of siblings.

The tentative, shy hug of toddlers meeting each other for the first time.

The tight, never-let-you-go-again hug of long lost friends or out-of-town relatives.

And so many more.

The one I love the most…

My child’s hug.

I cannot catch him on camera as he comes down the stairs in the morning and pauses half-way down to peek over the banister. He is too quick.

But when his head ducks back down and the soft thud of his feet continue on the carpeted staircase, I know he’s coming with arms wide open.

When he reaches the bottom, he pauses ever so briefly then breaks into a run across the dining room/playroom and straight into my arms, wrapping himself like a twist tie around my neck and body with his strong little two-year-old arms and legs.

He rests his head in the crook of my neck and relaxes his body into the shape of me.

This is love. Excruciatingly beautiful, heart-beating-out-of-my-chest-LOVE.

4 thoughts on “A child’s hug

  1. shoes

    Oh what a hug!! My most loved hugs are also the first thing in the morning hugs from my boys. They are energy and sleepiness, strong and soft, topple you over good morning momma greatness!

    A very sweet post indeed.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

