Who says kids don’t pay attention

I was working away at my computer the other day with my daughter at my feet playing with a Fisher Price A-frame cottage (mine from when I was a child).

I had kind of tuned her out because I was trying to get some work done in the crazy week that had become the norm for me here lately.

Then I heard her say, “Little, littler, littlest. Big, bigger, biggest.”

I looked over my shoulder and there she was, crouched over the Fisher Price family that came with the cottage. She had them all lined up and she was going through them naming their size.

At first I thought, “Hm, she already gets the sizing concept. Why is she going over and over this?” Then I realized she was shuffling them around and re-ordering them from smallest to biggest and then biggest to smallest; something she and I had been doing not too long ago but that I thought she wasn’t really paying attention to.

And here she was, “teaching” her Fisher Price characters how to line up smallest to biggest and biggest to smallest.

So, even when you think they aren’t paying attention, something is sinking in and will be regurgitated later. (Kind of like feeding a baby. You don’t think they’re swallowing anything until they spit up a bucket-full half an hour later.)

One thought on “Who says kids don’t pay attention

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

