Smiling kids

I’m sure you’ve asked a child to smile for a camera in the never-ending quest to capture your little sweetheart’s transformation from adorable little bundle of baby to beautiful or handsome young child.

Ever notice how the elicited smile ends up looking more like a portrayal of the Joker by Jack Nicholson in the Batman movies than it does your sweet child’s face?

Smiling girl

My daughter received this yellow rose bud from her grandmother. It was the last bud of the season so when it bloomed, she wanted to take a picture of it to send to Grandma.

The resulting photo shoot had me in stitches I laughed so hard at my daughter’s silly smiles. Every time I said “cheese” she would stretch her little mouth open in the widest grin possible. And the effect was always the same. A joker smile.

So, after a few attempts, I decided to try something different. I told her I would count to three and on three she could smile, but not before.

The first attempt at counting to three instead of saying “cheese” was somewhat more successful in the smile department.

Smiling girl

Our second attempt was a success. With all the ease and natural talent of a model, she kept a straight face until I said “three”, then she broke into a natural smile so beautiful it outshone the rose she was showcasing for her grandmother.

Beautiful girl

And that’s how I’m going to elicit smiles from now on.

7 thoughts on “Smiling kids

  1. dusterbed

    HAHAHA! Too funny! Sandra and I were talking about this very thing this morning! It’s not just kids – it’s adults too! But why? LOL It’s so hard to capture candid photos of people smiling, because as soon as the camera comes out, so do the creepy, put on smiles! Tee hee!

    Reply
  2. keepingitreal

    My daughter does the same thing. Every time I say “cheese,” she gives me the biggest joker smile. Sounds like you found a more natural method to capturing a child’s smile. Your daughter looks adorable holding the yellow rose. Her grandmother will love it!

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Thanks. You should try the counting thing next time you take a picture of your daughter. Doesn’t my daughter looked terrified of the rose in the first picture? That was our usual result. But she has improved so much with the counting method!

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

