Cuba continued

From my notebook: Wednesday, September 26, 2012.

Two more days and we go home. The kids, hubby and I are all fantasizing about home; about the food we’ll eat, the friends we’ll see, the showers we’ll take.

Hubby and I both admitted to feeling trapped yesterday. We can’t do anything to make our kids happy. All they want is to go home. And yet, we’re stuck here.

Do they feel this way because we have behaved poorly as parents? Should we have maintained a happy façade regardless?

It doesn’t matter now. It’s almost over. I’m looking forward to the rush-rush of our lives. Life is too slow here. I was even bored sleeping last night. I kept waking up and wondering how much longer I had to sleep because I needed to be doing something other than sleeping. But then I remembered that, once the sun does come up, there’s not much to do anyway.

It occurred to me that when hubby and I came to Cuba seven years ago, we were used to a relaxed lifestyle. We napped most Sundays. We only had ourselves to worry about. So much has changed since then. There are four of us now. Four schedules, constant go-go-go. We don’t nap anymore. And as much as we think we want a break, more than a day or two of relaxing is too much.

As I sit on the balcony of our room, hubby resting inside while Big Sister plays with the few toys she brought and Little Brother plays with his cars on the balcony at my feet, I think that this is a nice family vacation. We are relaxed (finally). We are happy. As much of an illusion as it may seem, we are happy at this moment.

6 thoughts on “Cuba continued

  1. shoes

    Having ample time to relax and just do nothing does not mesh well with the responsibility of children. They do not need much relaxation time and rarely if ever, enjoy doing nothing. I imagine it is hard to go back to the lazy of life without children, if only for couple days.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      You are so right! This is exactly what it was. My kids are always busy and this “doing nothing” was like torture to them. My daughter actually complained on multiple occasions that she was tired of playing and that playing is boring.

      Reply
  2. memyselfandkids

    It’ a bummer that this tripe which you were so excited about turned out to be something you had to go through. Clearly, you guys are in a different phase in your life and what constitutes a vacation has to change also.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Good point. We’re going to have to figure out what constitutes a vacation for our family before we start planning the next one.

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

