Rubik’s Race

We’re not really a game playing family. My husband and I, pre-kids, enjoyed the odd Battle Ship tournament. (In fact, we even played by candle light one night. Très romantique.) (OK, you got me. There was a power failure and we couldn’t watch TV.)

But, since having kids, we’ve often said we’d like to start up a family game night as a way to do something together as a family. Though game night has happened on occasion, it doesn’t happen with any regularity. This makes me sad in a way because I think I’d really like to play games with my husband and my kids on a Saturday night and have some fun together. The reality is, we’re too busy. We’re rarely home on a Saturday night, and if we are, we’re I’m working at the computer, my husband’s busy catching up on household chores and the kids are either playing with each other, playing alone, or are watching TV.

I know, I know. We could make time for games with the family. But with a 5 year old and 2.5 year old, there is little that we can play that interests all of us.

Then we got Rubik’s Race.

Rubik's Race game

Shake the scrambler and race to see who can match the pattern in the scrambler first. It’s challenging and fun, and not too challenging that my older one doesn’t get it. My younger one just likes the colours and the sliding squares.

It’s supposed to be for two players and for ages 5+, but we modify it a bit for my 2.5 year old and we get the whole family involved by playing teams, 2 against 2.

It’s lots of fun and it’s a great problem solving opportunity for my 5 year old who seems determined only to think inside the box. This just might expand her view of things.

You can check out Rubik’s Race here.

And if you’ve got a game player on your Christmas list, this would make a great gift for any age. As an adult, I found it fun and challenging. From my five-year-old’s perspective, it was fun and sometimes too challenging. But it wasn’t the game that was the problem. The instructions were straight-forward and easy to understand. The concept was easy to grasp. The pace was fast and exciting. I think she just needs more exposure to this kind of problem solving.

But if there’s someone in your family who loves puzzles, this is definitely a fun game. I really enjoyed it.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I received Rubik’s Race on review. The opinions and comments above are my own. I received no other compensation for my review.

6 thoughts on “Rubik’s Race

  1. memyselfandkids

    Maybe, I’ll get this. We are a game family. We tend to play them on the Sabbath and during the blackout. It makes you realize what can happen when there is no television, computers, etc. It’s actually kind of nice.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      I agree. I just wish I had more commitment to this kind of thing. There’s such a great benefit to everyone in the family when you do things like this together. But at the end of a long day/week, if the kids want to watch TV, sometimes it’s just easier to let them and hang with my hubby in the kitchen enjoying a glass of wine and some adult conversation (however bad that sounds).

      Reply
  2. shoes

    I am a bit like onthehomefrontandbeyond in that we have shelves of games and we hardly ever play them. Time is an issue and just the fact that they do not generally interest everyone playing. Carter even went through a period of horrible poor sportsmanship and he would actually run from the room crying if he lost. That did not make for a fun time for anyone involved. Maybe I will revisit family game night in a year or two…

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      I feel the same way. It’s hard to find a game that everyone in the family can enjoy (and sometimes my daughter is like Carter, which makes it no fun). Rubik’s Race was pretty good as long as we kept our expectations low in terms of what my 2.5 year old could do. I’m not sure how long it will hold their interest though.

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

