My Blog Anniversary(ies)

Yeah, this is a hard one to nail down.

Today, I got a little note from WordPress.com:

Happy Anniversary!

You registered on WordPress.com 1 year ago!

Thanks for flying with us.

Keep up the good blogging!

WordPress does better than some husbands. (Not mine of course. He’s a die-hard romantic and never forgets our special day.)

But the reason I say that this anniversary thing is hard to nail down is that I don’t have just one when it comes to blogging and this here little blog. I have three.

  1. The date I officially registered on WordPress.com – November 21, 2011
  2. The date I published my first post – November 27, 2011 (which, to me really was the official beginning of Life Takes Over)
  3. And then there’s October 5, 2011. Starting on that date, there are a handful of posts written and published by me but not originally in this space. They come from my other blog; the one I started about betterment only to realize that, as a mother, I couldn’t do justice to the topic of betterment without first providing the umbrella under which it falls in my life. And so, Life Takes Over was born and those first few posts migrated from my first blog to join their friends here.

Whichever date we decide to celebrate, I want you to know that, without you, I wouldn’t be writing and celebrating now.

I have made friends in the blogosphere. I have read some great writing by/through/from those friends. My mind has been opened to so many new ideas that I am going to have to lobby the government to add another hour to the day so that I can write my piece about all these things.

I have attended a blogging/social media conference. I have gained technical skills that last year I could not have fathomed. I have grown my readership, worked with companies writing about their products and services, met some wonderful people with fabulous dreams, had so many great opportunities and it doesn’t stop there. There is just so much more that has grown out of this little journey than I ever could have expected.

I have learned things about myself that I would not have learned if I had just written in my journal every night. Community and connection. That’s what makes this worth doing. (And of course my love of writing.)

This blogging community thing? IT ROCKS!

It keeps me coming back.

Yes, blogging is addictive. But there are worse addictions. So…

HAPPY BLOGIVERSARY TO ME!

8 thoughts on “My Blog Anniversary(ies)

  1. thismomloves

    Happy blogiversary indeed! I usually go with the date of my first post, although I didn’t even share the address of my blog with anyone until a couple of weeks later! Whenever I think about giving up blogging, I sit on it for a few days and then usually I’m recharged enough to keep at it…and I’ll be celebrating #3 in the New Year!

    Reply
  2. dusterbed

    Congratulations!!! A year goes by so fast, doesn’t it? But look at all you’ve achieved and written – and think about all the people you’ve inspired, or gotten to think a little more about life in general! I say – YAY for you being awesome! And AWESOME you are!!! Keep up the superb excellence!

    Reply
  3. shoes

    Congratulations! I am very happy we met out here in the world of blogs and I always look forward to your posts. You have a great way with your words. I have to agree with you about blogging being so very addicting. I had no idea what I was in for when I started blogging!

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

