Captured by Christmas Carols

I’ve been playing Christmas music since the day after Santa rolled into town in the local parade. Two radio stations that I get in my area are playing non-stop Christmas music. (Complain if you will, but I love it!)

So do my kids. Every morning in the car on the way to preschool, we listen to music. Up until mid-November, that music was children’s songs and nursery rhymes. Effective mid-November, the Christmas music took over.

There was not a bit of resistance from my children, bless their little souls. Is it possible to love my children more? Because I do now that I know that they share my extreme love of Christmas music.

From the constant repetition (again, complain if you will, but I love it), my children have learned just about every lyric to all the popular (some would say overplayed) Christmas songs. And they know all of the classics. And what lyrics they don’t know, they make up.

The fact they can sing more than just Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer and Frosty the Snowman warms my heart because, while playing or doing a chore, both my kids will spontaneously break into song, and it’s often a more classic tune. Christmas music has captured their hearts as much as it has captured mine.

Merry Christmas to me!

5 thoughts on “Captured by Christmas Carols

  1. Bev

    I must take a page out of your book. Today we listened to MJ, Smooth Criminal and Jeremih, Down on Me, on the way to school…

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

