The voices in my head

So I’m busy. I know you get it. You’re probably a parent, too. And even if you aren’t, who isn’t busy these days?

I haven’t been spending much time on writing lately and I’ve got a million ideas swimming around in my head trying to get onto the screen. But without the help of my fingers to type out the words, those ideas are just going to have to hang out in my brain for a while longer.

Despite not having much time, I felt the need to sit down and get this thought out before it turns into a voice in my head and drives me bananas. It has to do with those thoughts that buzz around in my head and turn into voices.

After dropping my son off at preschool, my daughter and I came home and settled into our morning routine (me at the computer working and her playing with her toys or drawing pictures). But this morning on our way back from preschool drop-off, she made a new imaginary friend, Clarabel.

Clarabel  is a chicken. And apparently quite cute when she’s sleeping (I had to carry her in from the car when we pulled in the driveway so that she wouldn’t wake up.) Once we were inside, my daughter had to tell me all about Clarabel and how Clarabel had come to live with us because my daughter wants a sister. Clarabel will sleep in Little Brother’s room because he doesn’t sleep in there anymore. And Clarabel is in Senior Kindergarten and will go to school with my daughter. And her birthday was yesterday so she is five now. And so on and so on.

For 40 straight minutes, my daughter never stopped talking. And of course, when I first get in the house and log into work, I have correspondence to catch up on, projects to set in motion, a To-Do list to make, and most of these things I’m doing in my head; talking myself through the tasks and then moving onto the next thing. With my daughter’s non-stop talking this morning, my brain could hardly get a thought in edgewise.

And that’s when it hit me. My daughter wasn’t interrupting my train of thought. The voices in my head were interrupting my daughter.

I work from home in the mornings to be with my daughter because she only goes to school in the afternoon. Next year, she’ll be going to school all day and I’ll be in the office all day. This time is short. I can arrange my work patterns so that I can be more attentive to my daughter right now while she is with me and not treat her like an interruption to my work.

She understands when I have to get something done, and she leaves me alone to do it. But first thing in the morning, she usually wants to talk for a bit. So, from now on, instead of my daughter interrupting me, I’m going to tell the voices in my head to stop interrupting my daughter.

9 thoughts on “The voices in my head

  1. Anka

    Thanks for the much needed reminder. I need to stop the voices in my head from interrupting my children as well. I’m glad that you managed to squeeze this thought out of your head. Now, the rest of us can meditate on it!

    Reply
  2. AlwaysARedhead

    The time goes unbelievably fast. I can still remember very clearly the day we brought our eldest home, well that was 23 years ago. Now all three are away at school and I miss them.

    Reply
  3. memyselfandkids

    Really nice post – glad to see you writing.
    Sometimes we need to be reminded about what our priorities. Good for you for seeing your daughter’s needs.
    The whole part of the imaginary friend reminds me of the movie Parental Guidance. Cute movie. I brought my 8-year-old to it.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

