Five Minute Friday – Here

Linking up with Lisa-Jo over on her site today.

It’s Five Minute Friday. The word is here. Here’s how to play:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s site and invite others to join in.
3. And then, absolutely no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community...

GO

Here I sit, again, blank screen in front of me. There has been a lot of that lately. And yet, I’ve been writing up a storm. My brain has added a new tab (like I needed something else to do in my mind).

tabs

I’ve been writing on paper; in my notebook. I’ve been preparing my thoughts for a presentation; a presentation at church this Sunday. Preparing is a strange way of saying it. I have more or less been corralling my thoughts; bringing them together on paper and then on screen; making sense of them and forcing them out of my head. And this time, I’m not just releasing my thoughts to readers. I’m releasing them to listeners. I’m going to stand in front of the congregation on Sunday and talk about my faith. I’m scared. There is no doubt about it. The idea terrifies me. But I’ve been practising and working on it and praying and I know it will be OK when I get up there, in front of everyone and look out at the listeners waiting for me to speak. I will know that I am here.

STOP

Now it’s your turn. GO!

Five Minute Friday

9 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Here

  1. Stephanie Spencer

    Hopping over from FMF. I love that some e-card. I saw it earlier this week and laughed out loud at its truth.

    Your post reminds me of how complicated the word “here” is. We have many heres in our life: our online space, our homes, our jobs, our families, our church communities, and our private worlds of journals and notebooks. Each space has to have give and take with the other. Each one may require something different from us at different times. And some “heres” bring peace, while others fill us with anxiety.

    I hope your talk goes well, and that the different kind of preparation you have done comes to fruition into something that bless you and others.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Thanks for stopping by, Stephanie. And that’s so true about all the different “heres” that we have. I appreciate your comments, it was nice to hear from you.

      Reply
  2. ~Maxine~

    Nice! On these important things like faith it never fails to surprise me that even on the spur of the moment or at the last moment God steps in to give us the right words. Good luck on Sunday, you’ll have to update to let us all know how it went. 🙂 And thanks for stopping in on my blog, I try to catch everyone who links up… but it is an impossible task, so it’s nice to be able to do so from the comments we get too. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Thanks so much for your words of encouragement, Laura. I feel blessed that you visited my little blog today and passed on your wisdom. 🙂

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

