Ultimate Blog Challenge – The Beginning

Have you heard about the Ultimate Blogger Challenge? I hadn’t until recently. But it seems like a great way to get my butt back in gear. I have a dozen or more drafts lagging in a folder. For whatever reason, I can’t seem to polish them off and send them out into the world.

I call it “being too busy”. But that’s not a good enough excuse if writing is something you truly love. Because, if you do love to write, you’ll always find time to do it.

When I first started blogging, I used to get ideas while I was washing or drying dishes with my husband. I’d look at him imploringly and say, “I just had a great idea for a blog post. I don’t want to forget it. Would you mind if I just sat down at the computer for a few minutes to tap it out?”

And he, being the wonderfully understanding husband that he is, would say, “Of course, hon. This is your passion. You have to run with it.”

After a while, I think he started to catch on that I was just trying to get out of doing the dishes probably always going to have these ideas and I couldn’t spend my life sitting at the computer, blogging away while the dishes piled up and the children went unfed and unbathed. Now he’s not so accommodating and I have to schedule time to write.

But like all things we schedule, appointments can be rescheduled. And I’ve been doing that a lot lately.

Admittedly, I have had other writing projects dropped in my lap that don’t involve my blog (more on that in another post), and I have been incredibly busy at work trying to get a new publication to market.

So, when I heard about the Ultimate Blogging Challenge, I thought, “This is just the kick in the butt that I need. I’m signing up.”

And so, here I am, blogging 30 times in April because that’s the rule. I have some catching up to do. It is, after all, April 12th already. I apologize in advance for bombarding you, my loyal readers, with catch-up posts. I will try to at least make them entertaining (and short).

Wish me luck! I will be fighting against my own instincts to procrastinate and that is ever so hard.

3 thoughts on “Ultimate Blog Challenge – The Beginning

    1. Nancy Post author

      I’ve never really found a rhythm myself. I’ve tried every other day, every day, once a week. But with young kids, I tend to write when the kids are momentarily quiet, and I often write on paper then transfer to my blog. I’ve been looking for a way to get back on track with some regularity. I’m hoping this helps. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

