Banana Muffins – a morning well-spent

I needed a quick activity the other morning to keep my daughter engaged while I got some work done.

I had exhausted the usual distractions like TV, movies, computer games, toys that she hadn’t seen in a while, etc., but I had some things that I had to do for work and there was no putting them off.

Then I remembered her request for banana bread not too long ago, and I remembered this recipe that I had that was super easy because it required very little in the way of preparation (Disclaimer: everything requires prep. I hate it when I read a recipe that boasts that it doesn’t take any effort to prepare and then I spend 45 minutes preparing said recipe. It really irks me. So, what I’m saying is that, although there are limited steps involved in this recipe, it is not without its own level of preparation.)

Here’s the recipe:

Banana Bread/Muffins

Ingredients:

3 – 5 mashed bananas
1/2 cup sugar
1 slightly beaten egg
1/2 cup melted butter or margarine
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup of white flour
1/2 cup of whole wheat flour

(I try to work whole wheat flour into everything I bake. The recipe actually calls for 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour. I’ve made these muffins both ways, and I prefer them with the whole wheat flour. They’re tastier. But that’s just me.)

Directions:

Mix all together. Pour into a bread pan or muffin pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Let cool, then eat.

Mini banana muffins

To keep my daughter occupied, I took five minutes (seriously, that’s all) and measured out the ingredients while she peeled and mashed the bananas with a potato masher. The ingredients don’t need to go in in any particular order, so I just lined them up on the table and told her to start dumping them in and to stir after each ingredient.

Little girl making muffins

That gave me some time to get about half of my work done. Then I divided the batter into the muffin cups and baked them for her. Once they were done, she decorated them with some icing and sprinkles, which gave me more time to work.

All in all, this was a successful activity that occupied her for over an hour. (While the muffins were baking she coloured and drew pictures.)

I think I’ll be doing this again. Got any easy recipes that you would like to share that will keep my daughter occupied while I work? Please share them in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Banana Muffins – a morning well-spent

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

