Crayola make-up

In case you’re new here and you don’t know me, I’m a working mom. I work from home in the mornings and at my office in the afternoons. This is to accommodate my daughter’s 1/2 day kindergarten schedule.

So, to accomplish any amount of work in the mornings, I have to find things that will occupy my daughter and limit the amount of time that I need to be involved. This is not my ideal situation. I would love to spend the morning with her, baking and colouring and playing with her dolls. But that’s not my life right now and so I must find things that she will enjoy and that don’t take up too much of my time.

Enter Crayola markers.

One day while she was colouring, she was talking to herself about the pretty colours of lipstick she was drawing on the people in her picture. I wandered over to see the picture and she asked if she could use the markers to do make-up on herself. I thought about it for a minute and then figured that there was little harm in letting her do it. Plenty of children, out of sight of their parents, have coloured on themselves with Crayola markers and lived to see the pictures.

So, off she went to a mirror with her markers to put on her “make-up”.

The results were…stunning!

Clown face

Clown face

Clown face

3 thoughts on “Crayola make-up

  1. mooremom523

    I love it! I can’t tell you how many parents I have had stare at me in horror when I say that at camp we have let kids write on themselves with child safe washable marker. Her results are beautiful just like she is and I’m sure its a creative memory she won’t soon forget.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      That’s great! Why shouldn’t they express themselves with art? I also have a stained glass effect on my kitchen windows from where I’ve let my kids loose with Crayola markers. Thanks for your comment!

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

