Five Minute Friday – Imagine

Linking up with Lisa-Jo over on her site today.

It’s Five Minute Friday. The word is imagine. Here’s how to play:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s post and invite others to join in.
3. And then, absolutely no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community...

GO

Imagine the possibilities if I didn’t work. Imagine the fun, the laughter, the hugs, the kisses, the crafts, the mess, the pure joy of being together. I imagine that all the time. I imagine and daydream how much easier and how much harder life would be if I quit my job and stayed home with my children.

They have always been in daycare. They have always lived by the clock. Down time is not something they are familiar or comfortable with. It’s schedule schedule schedule at our house.

But the reality is a little sad. The reality is I have a hard time accepting that I’m not strong enough to jump in with two feet, quit my job and raise these beautiful children instead of farming them out to the latest caregiver. And all of the caregivers (except one) have been amazing in their own ways. But they are not mommy. My children deserve better.

But imagining how life would be and living how life would be are two completely different things. The imagining is beautiful and sunny and snowy and laughing and fun and hard times but so much time to just be. Just be.

The living is harder. The anger, the indecision, the doubting. Imagining won’t make it come true though. And in every dream, in everything that you can imagine, there is hard work and it is always worth it.

STOP

Now it’s your turn. GO!

Five Minute Friday

14 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Imagine

  1. susan

    Visiting from 5MF. I went back to work after both my kids were born. It took two years before I had the courage to stay home with them.

    The first week was terrifying. I had no clue what my kids did all day, it was like I was a stranger. It wasn’t what I expected and I wanted to tell my boss I’d made a mistake.

    It got easier with every passing day. I found new friends and a network of support. I learned what my kids did all day. I figured it out.

    That was in 2006. I’m still at home with them.

    If there is anything I could tell you, it would be to encourage you to take the leap. Being an at-home mom is far better than anything you can imagine.

    Reply
  2. BipolarMomLife

    I was brought back to my working days when I read your post. I remember those days. Just remember: the grass always seems greener. That’s what I try to tell myself when I wonder whether I should go back to work. Your message is clear: enjoy the moment. Just be. Loved this post. Hugs to you, mama. Happy Friday. ❤

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Though we certainly enjoy the lifestyle that comes with having my income, we don’t need it. In fact, most days, I think we’d be better off with less.

      Reply
  3. Debi Stangeland (@DebiStangeland)

    Oooo, I so want to know more about why, what, where, how, when…………… But in regards to this post and this writing, it was great. I could really feel the tension. I hope you write more about what happens next. (P.S. I vote for making your dreams come true.)

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Thanks Debi! And thanks for stopping by. You’ll certainly see more on this topic around here. Writing is what helps me hash things out when I can’t make a decision.

      Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

