Three little birds

My family’s theme song. It’s Sunday morning. We’re getting ready for church. The kids are a little cranky. We’re all a little tired.

My husband pulls out his iPod and finds Bob Marley’s Three Little Birds. Big Sister dances around the living room, iPod in hand. An argument breaks out between Big Sister and Little Brother over who is going to hold the iPod.

I pull up YouTube on the computer and stream the same song for Little Brother to distract him from the iPod.

Everyone calms down and starts to dance and sing.

Music is such an important part of our lives and we so often forget this. But whenever we put it on—especially this song—we all come back together. We are a church-going family. We are a family of faith. But music is our religion.

It connects us to each other. It picks us up when we’re feeling down. It’s our connection to God. It helps guide us.

And when the kids are in a good mood or a bad mood, we hum that Bob Marley song and everyone joins in. I’ve overheard Little Brother singin’ sweet songs of melodies pure and true to himself in the play room. I don’t even need to hear the music anymore, just the sound of my children’s voices as they sing.

4 thoughts on “Three little birds

  1. Anka

    Aw, Nancy, I can’t tell you how much my family LOVES this song! My husband first introduced to me to Bob Marley back in high school. I’m going to bust out these tunes before we head out to church on Sunday, too. Great idea!

    Certainly, sets the tone for the rest of the day!

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

