Five Minute Friday – Listen

Linking up with Lisa-Jo over on her site today.

It’s Five Minute Friday. The word is listen. Here’s how to play:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s post and invite others to join in.
3. And then, absolutely no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community...

GO

If I listen to my inner voice, there would be days when I wouldn’t get out of bed. I wrote a post a while back about being our own worst bully. That’s definitely me. I’m rarely nice to myself. Doesn’t matter if it’s about my parenting skills, my friendship skills, my work skills, my writing. I bully myself all the time. I promised myself I would write down all of my negative thoughts one day so that it could all be laid out for me to see, thinking that, if it was in plain view instead of hidden in my mind, I would face my inner bully. Guess what? I never got around to doing that. I think about it every day.

But then there are days when I’m awesome; when things go right and I have slept well and nourished my body with good food and my mind and my soul with quiet meditation. I swear those are the days when I listen to myself. I give myself five seconds to taste my words before I spit them out. I listen to the way they will sound when they fall on the ears of my little ones. I edit my words and I speak nicely…and my children listen to me.

STOP

Now it’s your turn. GO!

Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Listen

  1. Sabrina Fowles

    Hi, I’m your neighbour on FMF. Lovely post, and so true for many of us, we are our own worst critics! It is so hard to ignore the lies we tell ourselves – here’s to the awesome days! 🙂

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

