First Day of School

I’ve been thinking about this post all week.

It’s an exciting time, back-to-school. Especially for the younger ones who don’t yet dread tests and homework.

But what struck me the most this year was that it’s also a time for reconnecting.

Yes, I saw many of our friends over the summer. But there were a few people—parents of my daughter’s classmates—whose company I enjoyed but never felt close enough to reach out and ask for their number so that we could get together outside of school hours.

And yet, this is the way friendships are built.

But the first day of school brings with it that reconnection. All the moms and dads standing around the schoolyard, chatting about summer and school year expectations.

It’s a new beginning; a time when I’m inclined to make “new year’s resolutions”, to start fresh and set the right example for my kids that each new day, each new year is a chance to start again, to make it different, to break out of our shells and connect with that new friend, be it a new classmate or another parent.

I’ve watched my friends post pictures of their little ones starting school for the first time and of their older ones going back, happy or sad, but going back nonetheless. And in all the back-to-school hub bub, I see connection. We need each other. We’re all new each day. We wake up and get to start again, be a new person, do that thing that we were afraid to do yesterday.

Today is a new day. Today we are all new people.

Saying: today is a new day.

6 thoughts on “First Day of School

  1. AlwaysARedhead

    I always enjoyed the parent chats before the kids went into school. Plus it was always humorous to see that last minute parent running his/her child into the schoolyard after the bell rang.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

