Little Passports – World Adventure

A little over a year ago, my husband and I took our two children ages four and two at the time to Cuba for a family vacation. We did not plan any big adventures or day trips, just simple lounging about the pool, playing on the beach and relaxing the days away (something we desperately needed).

It turned out to be a disaster. My kids are not world travellers. I suppose if we spent more time travelling, they’d eventually get used to it, but I’m also inclined to think that some people are just cut out for travelling, while others are not. I’m a bit of an armchair traveller myself. I like the idea of seeing the world, but I’m not keen on actually leaving town.

So, needless to say, my kids won’t likely be trekking around the world with me. But I’d still like them to get a taste of what’s out there, even if it is from books for now. Maybe it will help build a sense of adventure in them and they’ll travel the world when they’re old enough to do it on their own.

In the mean time, there’s Little Passports, an educational monthly subscription box that invites kids to learn about culture, history, and more from Canada and around the world.

Recently named a Parent Tested Parent Approved (PTPA) winner, Little Passports fosters excitement about geography, history, and culture (including food) by following the world travels of characters Sam and Sofia on their GPS enabled scooter! Each month kids receive a special package from Sam and Sofia with hands on activities and recipes from the places they have visited.

Little Passports

There are two editions, USA and World. In the World edition, Sam and Sofia visit one country a month and send kids a letter talking about their journey, a souvenir and hands-on activity sheets that help the child learn about that country. In the USA edition, Sam and Sofia visit two USA states a month.

Little Passports

We had great fun with the kit we received. Sofia and Sam were travelling in Brazil and they sent us a picture of the monkey they found hiding from a hunter, an amethyst from the mine where they helped the monkey hide and a sticker for our suitcase!

I thought my kids would be too young to appreciate the educational value of this service and that they might get bored, but we spent over an hour looking at the map, talking about the monkey and studying the amethyst. It was great fun and we learned something, too! And then my daughter made up a game where we used the amethyst like dice and tossed it onto the map to see where it would land. Wherever it landed, we would draw a pencil line from where we were (we started in Brazil with Sofia and Sam from Little Passports) to the new destination as determined by the amethyst, then we would spend talking about that country and what it might be like there.

It’s a great idea, along the lines of a magazine subscription but way more fun!

For more information about the subscription, visit the Little Passports website.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Disclosure: I received a Little Passports starter kit for review. The opinions stated above are my own. I received no other compensation.

3 thoughts on “Little Passports – World Adventure

  1. This Mom Loves

    Hmm…I’ve been trying to think of non-junky “experiential” types of Christmas gifts for my girls, and this sounds interesting…maybe I can convince Grandma to give a subscription to the kids this year. I think they would love it…just getting mail excites them, and they’re definitely interested in learning about other places in the world. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

