Five Minute Friday – Grace

Linking up with Lisa-Jo over on her site today.

It’s Five Minute Friday. The word is grace. Here’s how to play:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back to Lisa-Jo’s post and invite others to join in.
3. And then, absolutely no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community...

GO

Two things collided this morning.

Yesterday, I volunteered at my daughter’s school, which gave me a chance to be with the teachers and the administration and to see the children in the environment in which they spend most of their waking hours absorbing, learning, grasping, growing, and attempting to comprehend their place in our world.

Today, I caught up a bit on my blog reading and read Lisa-Jo’s post How to have a temper tantrum.

And a tiny, seemingly insignificant event at the school yesterday morning screamed at me as I read that post this morning; the two colliding and crashing around in my brain.

It was Halloween. There would be Halloween events all day at the school. Children could dress up, or not. It was up to them and to their families and their traditions. One little boy, maybe about 5 years old, did not have a costume. He was devastated. He was crying. He was hurt and sad and without hope for a good day.

I don’t know what started the upset, whether it was to do with the costume or some other transgression, but the adult in charge of rectifying it only made it worse.

What this has to do with Lisa-Jo’s post is right here, in plain English: A soft word turns away anger and a hard word arouses wrath.

What could have turned away anger, what could have been an important moment in this child’s emotional development, despite what he may have done wrong, is Grace.

…somewhere between my brain and my tongue someone rescued me from myself and a gentle spirit slipped grace between my selfish syllables.

We need more grace.

STOP

Now it’s your turn. GO!

Five Minute Friday

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Grace

    1. Nancy Post author

      I went over and got down on the kid’s level and asked him what was wrong. I talked softly to him about taking deep breaths and trying to calm down so he could tell me what was wrong. While I was talking to him, he started to calm down a bit. But the “adult in charge” pulled him away before I could get him completely calmed down. The adult was clearly caught up in how inconvenient it was for him to have to do deal with this upset child. I get that, too. We all have agendas, and a screaming child slows down our progress. But the 2-3 minutes it would take to speak nicely and softly to a child, especially a really young child, could make or break how that child views the world and what kind of an attitude he’ll have as he grows up.

      When I see things like this happen, I always remember a line from the movie Conviction. The sheriff brings the two kids home and their mother reams them out. The sheriff says to her, “If you treat them like trash, they’re gonna grow up to be trash.”

      It makes me sad.

      Reply
      1. memyselfandkids.com

        Nice of you to try and calm him down. It’s a shame the person in charge was not able to see the bigger picture and was worried so about the lesson. The kids feelings need to be addressed. The last line you write about trash is apropos.

  1. ComfyTown Chronicles (@ComfyTownChroni)

    This is amazing. And so true. I hope for everyone’s sake the adult in this situation was just having a bad day, and/or learns from this experience. You are so right. Sometimes just the TONE of your voice can turn a whole situation around. My son was a unique challenge as a child, but a book I read called “The 5 Love Languages of Kids” taught me to put love FIRST, even when you want to scream. It really helped. It really does work.

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      I’ll have to check that book out. It’s a difficult thing to do sometimes with all our own agendas and busy schedules. But so essential.

      Reply
  2. sabri

    Good work Nancy, I think it’s important for parents to visit their childrens school’s every once in a while to experience their child/’s reality. The students at your child’s school are lucky to have a parent like yourself volunteering at their school.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

