Apple TV: bringing families together

So you might know that I’m not a big TV watcher. You might also know that I’m not keen on my kids spending too much time in front of the TV. You’ve probably read somewhere on this blog that I canceled my family’s cable last May and signed up for Netflix as a compromise. You’re probably then also aware that we canceled Netflix before the trial period was over because we never used it.

You may then be wondering why I’m now writing about how TV can bring families together.

Here’s something you won’t hear me admit very often: I like watching TV. (I really do.)

(I try hard to make this not true, but the reality of a busy life sometimes demands mental downtime. And watching a good sitcom is like medicine for my brain.)

I also feel that, now that smartphones and tablets and computers are the new digital bad guys, liking TV is no longer such a terrible thing. There’s something worse out there.

Despite cancelling Netflix, we did not reactivate our cable. We were doing fine without it. Then we got an Apple TV from Staples.

Apple TV

We signed up for Netflix again to get a more complete experience from our Apple TV since we don’t have iPhones or an iPad and can’t do all the fancy syncing with those devices.

But there are plenty of other things to do on Apple TV, like:

  • Rent from the largest selection of HD movies, buy commercial-free HD TV shows, browse and play YouTube and Vimeo videos, access online Flickr photos, watch HD podcasts, and listen to Internet radio
  • Watch live and archived MLB and NHL games in HD ← Hubby’s pastime
  • iTunes Match subscription allows you to listen to all your favourite songs in your iCloud library from your HDTV
  • Enjoy all the photos, music and videos on your computer on the best TV and speakers in the house ← Agreed!
  • Stream everything you watch over 802.11n Wi-Fi
  • Simple setup with a single HDMI cable for both audio and video
  • Sleek design that’s small, quiet and energy efficient ← Apple can’t be beat in my opinion for design. This is one nifty little device.

We are now regular subscribers to Netflix because Apple TV makes it work so nicely. Our previous streaming device was clunky (if one can describe it that way) compared to the Apple device. Apples makes Netflix loads faster, runs smoothly and doesn’t freeze anymore.

So, now, as the holidays get closer and the rush of holiday preparation dies down and turns into family time, we can make hot cocoa, pop some popcorn, switch on Apple TV and snuggle up under a blanket together to watch family movies at the end of a long, busy day. And this is what I love about TV (and particularly Apple TV). It gives us that opportunity to sit down and be close. No one argues over whose turn it is to roll the dice. No one gets mad because they lost the game again. We all agree on which movies to watch. We all love the time to just sit together and flake out. And my husband and I enjoy the time we get, snuggled up together as we watch our shows after the kids go to bed (without commercials thanks to Apple TV!). It’s fantastic! Apple TV has given us that time together this holiday season.

Would you like some of that together-time this holiday season?

Thanks to Staples Canada you have a chance at it. The fantastic people at Staples have kindly offered an Apple TV to one of my readers.

All you have to do to enter to win is leave a comment telling me what your favourite family movie is around the holidays.

And tweet this to receive an additional ballot.

A winner will be drawn on Monday, December 16, 2013.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Disclaimer: I received an Apple TV on review from Staples. The opinions stated above are entirely my own. I was not compensated in any other way.

The contest is open to Canadian readers only. Good luck!

31 thoughts on “Apple TV: bringing families together

  1. Vanessa

    Hands down best Christmas Movie is Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. Loved it as a kid and still watch it every Christmas eve while wrapping gifts! Close second is Home Alone…I always look forward to watching it every year.

    Reply
  2. Daniela Ferrante

    I totally agree with you Nancy, as much as I’d like to say I don’t like TV, I LOVE TV!! At the end of a long day there is nothing I want to do more than sit on the couch and forget about everything else and soak in some programs. I have to say though my favorite Christmas Movie has to be Elf! Great for both kids and adults I think it’s the perfect family Christmas movie!!

    Reply
  3. dusterbed

    My absolute favourite Christmas movie ever is National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. There are so many to choose from, but I watch that one every year. My next choice would be It’s a Wonderful Life. It always reminds me of the good things we take for granted!

    Reply
    1. Nancy Post author

      Hockey was the issue in our family, too. We’ve been able to stream local games, but we’re missing everything out of town. 😦 So far, I haven’t heard my hubby complain too much, although I suspect that’s just because he’s a nice guy.

      Die Hard was my favourite Christmas movie before we had kids. I still love it, but I just can’t see my 3 and 6 year old appreciating it the way that I do 😉

      Reply
  4. puck013

    National lampoons is my favorite!! I die laughing every time I see “uncle Eddie” state “hey Clark! The shitters full!” Totally love Home alone.. Elf.. A Christmas Story (you’ll shoot your eye out kid!!).. So many great Christmas movie memories!!

    Reply
  5. puck013

    All time favorite is national lampoons.. I love when “uncle Eddie” is emptying the RV septic in the sewer and announces “Shitters full!”
    Love Christmas times and look forward to movies– frosty, the peanuts, elf, a Christmas story– you’ll shoot your eye out kid!!!
    So many Christmas memories! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Marj

    There are so many good Christmas movies it’s hard to choose. A Christmas Story – makes me laugh everytime. Love Actually makes me cry. The boys love the original Grinch so that is played a lot too!

    Reply
  7. Brenda Penton

    National Lampoons Christmas Vacation. I watch it annually and this year I felt my kids were old enough to enjoy it as well. I loved watching their reactions and look forward to watching every year as a family.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

