Crazy Stories, Sane God…

Why did I pick up this book tonight, rather than the parenting book or any other number of books that I’m reviewing right now?

There’s a message in all this. I think it’s a calling to deeper faith.

Book cover of Crazy Stories Sane God by John Alan TurnerI’ve only read a few stories in Crazy Stories Sane God by John Alan Turner, and I’ve skipped forward and around a bit, too, but I have to say…the book speaks directly to me.

Each story chosen from the Bible is laid out in its briefest form; described, not told. Then there is the commentary; the how-it-relates-to-us part…clear, concise and right to the point. This part of each section is invaluable in its offering of this-is-how-this-story-applies-to-us and these-are-the-lessons-we-can-take-from-this-story.

Each time I have picked up this book to read more, I have encountered something that is completely applicable to what I’m going through at that moment in time. Either the Bible story itself, or the author’s commentary have had a direct impact on my thinking at that moment or on that day. It’s uncanny.

I have a little under half left to read, but the book has already been etched into my mind. It covers the Bible stories that are hard to believe; the ones that we, as parents, have a hard time explaining to our kids, so we just skip over them and trip over ourselves when our children bring the stories up and ask questions that we can’t answer. (Happens to me all the time; especially at Easter. How do you explain someone coming back from the dead to a child raised in a world where everything has a logical explanation?)

If you are on a spiritual journey, if you’re looking for explanations of the crazy stories in the Bible, if you need someone to put the pieces together and relate them to you, or help you make sense of the stories so you can better explain them to your children, you need to read this book.

*************************************

Title: Crazy Stories Sane God

Publisher: B&H Publishing Group

ISBN: 978-1-4336-8128-8

*************************************

I received a copy of this book for review. The opinions stated in this piece are entirely my own. I received no other compensation for my review.

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

