I CAN Make a Difference (2014)

I recently had the privilege of reading to my children another great book by Miriam Laundry. I met Miriam about a year and a half ago and was instantly struck by how she exudes positive energy. And her I Can series of books reflects that positive energy in every way.

IcanmakeadifferenceHer most recent edition to the series is I CAN Make a Difference. It’s about a young boy who is tasked by his teacher to use some gifted money to make a difference in someone else’s life. He is less than thrilled with the project, but he’s a good kid and, without realizing he’s doing it, he makes a difference in the lives of his friends without ever spending a penny of the gifted money.

This story really touched my heart. The main character’s personality had such depth, it reminded me of my own children and their struggles with kindness and selfishness. As is often the case in children’s books, the main character is faced with some dilemma and is led, throughout the story, to a solution to the problem and a rectifying of his behaviour. Though this story follows the same dilemma/solution path, we see the main character as much more than just the issue at hand. I have to admit that, while reading this to my kids the first and second time, I teared up a little bit when I read certain parts about how Alex had helped his friends so unselfishly that he didn’t even realize he had made a difference to them.

Another thing I really like about Miriam’s books in general is, though there is a main character that we follow to the end of the story, she breathes life into the other characters as well, including the adult (the teacher) so that the reader sees into each characters’ personality and is drawn into the story to enjoy the characters interactions and how their paths weave together. And she always shows her adult character learning a lesson from the students. I think this is important for a child hearing this story because it shows that children aren’t the only ones who have lessons to learn. They are also good teachers.

It was a true pleasure reading this story to my children and my children liked it so much it has become a go-to bedtime story or anytime story. It hasn’t made it to the bookshelf, yet. And I suspect this gem will be left out for some time to come. It’s such a great book.

Would you like a copy of your own? Miriam has so kindly offered to give away a signed copy of her book, I CAN Make a Difference, to one of my readers. All you have to do is tell me in the comments how you or your child made a difference in someone’s life, or even how someone else made a difference in your life.

And because it’s the holidays—and we’re all really busy—the contest will run from today until the first day back to school in January.

2 thoughts on “I CAN Make a Difference (2014)

  1. Christa Bengtsson

    This past year someone randomly gave us $40 and at the time it made a big difference as we were really bad off.

    Reply

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

