Bread in a bag and other things I can get my kids to do

I’m off my feet for a while. Which means I get to boss people around and tell them what to cook and bake while I sit back and wait for the results of their labour. (JK. I would never boss anyone around. I’m more into firmly encouraging.)

Recently, this translated into cupcakes and bread courtesy of my kids.

To start, we made cupcakes. I thought we had a cake mix on hand. Turned out I was wrong, and so we had to bake from scratch. It was a lot easier than I thought it would be. Mind you, I wasn’t doing the work. I was just giving instructions.

Grab the recipe here.

Here’s the result:

Homemade chocolate cupcakes

Then we made a loaf of bread. Easy for the kids. Most of the work was done in a Ziploc bag, so not too much mess. Didn’t take very long either. We’ll be making it again, but we’ll reduce the salt. That was our only complaint…too salty.

And this recipe is from Your Homebased Mom.

Here’s the fun part:

girl kneading dough in a bag

As she squished the dough in the bag, she exclaimed, “We just made dough out of the ingredients we had at home. We didn’t have to go out and buy anything!”

Unfortunately, we ate the bread before I thought to take a picture of it.

And after all the baking and fun, she even washed up the dishes. Life is good.

girl washing dishes

À la prochaine!

Share your thoughts! I love to read what you have to say.

